Approaching FCC Deadline for Covered 911 Service Providers

Thoughtware Alert Published: Sep 03, 2019
Public Sector Meeting

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has issued a Public Notice through its Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau that announces the opening of the FCC’s 911 Reliability Certification System for filing annual reliability certifications, which are due on October 15, 2019. Covered 911 Service Providers should file certifications using the FCC’s online portal.1

Certification requirements apply to Covered 911 Service Providers. A Covered 911 Service Provider is defined as an entity that:

  • Provides 911, E911 or NG911 capabilities such as call routing, automatic location information (ALI) or automatic number identification (ANI)—or the functional equivalent of those capabilities—directly to a public safety answering point (PSAP), statewide default answering point or appropriate local emergency authority as defined in 47 CFR §64.3000(b); or
  • Operates one or more central offices that directly serve a PSAP. A central office directly serves a PSAP if it:
    • Hosts a selective router or ALI/ANI database
    • Provides equivalent NG911 capabilities, or 
    • Is the last service provider facility through which a 911 trunk or 10-digit administrative line passes before connecting to a PSAP.

A company that offers the capability for its customers to originate 911 calls is not a Covered 911 Service Provider if another entity operates the selective router and/or ANI/ALI database that delivers those calls and associated number or location information to the appropriate PSAP. 

An FCC FAQ providing information on the requirements can be accessed on the FCC website.

If you serve a PSAP directly, BKD can assist or answer questions regarding this requirement—reach out to your BKD trusted advisor or complete the Contact Us form below. 

1 See 47 CFR §12.4(a)(4) defining Covered 911 Service Providers

Related Thoughtware

Kate & Ben — How can we help you? Contact Us!

How can we help you?